For this week’s assignment to have a conversation with a new student in my class, I met Tyler Nakashima. Tyler is a health science major and attends Cal State Long Beach. Over the course of a couple of weeks, I have seen Tyler in our class, but never knew that we shared a few common interests. For example, Tyler likes to jog and go to the beach. Like Tyler, I share the same interests. Tyler likes to hang out with friends and enjoys playing fighting games such as Street Fighters and Super Smash Brothers.

When I asked Tyler the assignment question for this week: Is art important?, he responded by saying, “I really value art. I think that science is of course important. However, I feel that art is special to the human race. Not only can art be personally therapeutic and used to express one’s emotions, but art can also be a great tool. For example, antiwar music around the Vietnam War era was extremely influential to the younger generation. The themes of those songs shaped the collective consciousness of an entire generation. I think Art allows people to express their ideas and thoughts to an infinite amount of other people which is truly amazing. I find it even more amazing that people can look at a piece of art and find entirely new meanings not intended by the author. Science is a way for us to find answers about the universe, but I feel that art is limitless.”

Visit Tyler’s page at http://tylernakashima.com

A photo with my classmate Tyler Nakashima.
A photo with my classmate Tyler Nakashima.
